Editorial Team

Jason Snell, Senior VP, Editorial Director

jsnell@idgcsmb.com
Jason oversees all editorial operations at IDG Consumer & SMB. Prior to this, he spent seven years as editor in chief of Macworld. He’s been a technology journalist for nearly 20 years and has written about most of the major tech products of this millennium, including the iPod, iPhone, and iPad.
Follow @jsnell

Jason Cross, Executive Editor, TechHive

jcross@techhive.com
Jason has written professionally about consumer technology and video games for almost 15 years. Today, he manages editorial operations for TechHive. His goal in life is to figure out how complicated technology works and explain it in a way anyone can understand.
Follow @jasoncross00

Jon Phillips, Editor, PCWorld

jphillips@pcworld.com
Jon is the lead editor for PCWorld, and is passionate about PCs and technology in general. Most recently he was a Senior Editor in charge of Wired.com’s Gadget Lab channel. He also spent 16 years at Future US serving as Editor-in-Chief for Maximum PC and Editorial Director for the Future US Tech Group.

Follow @JonPhillipsSF

 

 

 

 

 

Philip Michaels, Managing Editor, IDG Consumer & SMB

pmichaels@idgcsmb.com
As managing editor for all three IDG Consumer & SMB brands, Philip coordinates news coverage, multimedia, and features across Macworld, PCWorld, and TechHive. He’s worked for IDG’s consumer publications since 1999.

 

Dan Miller, Editor, Macworld

dmiller@macworld.com
Dan supervises editorial for Macworld, both online and in print. He also edits features, how-to columns, and reviews; and covers networking and security technologies.

Follow @drm510

 

 

Christopher Breen, Senior Editor

cbreen@macworld.com

Christopher writes the Mac 911 blog and print column. He also hosts and produces theMacworld Podcast and contributes reviews, features, and opinion pieces. He’s the author of several books from Peachpit Press and produces training videos for Lynda.com. His beats include music and audio, consumer video, rich media, home media, Mac OS, iOS 4, iOS devices, and troubleshooting.

Follow @BodyofBreen

Serenity Caldwell, Associate Editor

scaldwell@macworld.com
Serenity has been writing, talking and tinkering with Apple products since she was old enough to double-click. Previously, she worked for Apple Retail on its Creative team; at Macworld, she assists with and edits the Superguides, coordinates features for the iPad app, maintains the New to Mac section on Macworld.com, and helps out with general news coverage. In her spare time, she sketches, writes, acts, sings, and wears an assortment of hats.
Follow @settern

Dan Frakes, Senior Editor

dfrakes@macworld.com
Dan has been writing about technology since 1994. He coordinates coverage of iPhone, iPad, iPod, and audio gear; covers the mobile-accessory and input-device beats; runs the Mac Gems column; and writes about OS X and iOS, troubleshooting, mobile and desktop hardware, audio/video, and accessories. His tech experience also includes writing and editing numerous books; working in IT; and publishing two popular bits of Mac software, ChangeShortName and InformINIT.

Follow @danfrakes

Roman Loyola, Senior Editor

rloyola@macworld.com
Roman helps run the Macworld reviews department. His beat responsibilities include Macs, storage, printers, displays, and camcorders.
Follow @pinatubo2000

 

Dan Moren, Senior Editor

dmoren@macworld.com
Dan helps coordinate news coverage for Macworld.com.

Follow @dmoren

 

Melissa Riofrio, Senior Editor

mriofrio@pcworld.com
Melissa manages printer coverage for PCWorld and Macworld, and she also oversees car technology coverage for TechHive. Her printer background includes apprenticing on a 1950’s Vandercook letterpress and using daisywheels in the early ’70s. She started identifying cars as a child, to pass the time on long road trips. To this day, she continues to follow innovations in car design and technology.

Follow @MRiofrioPCW
Leah Yamshon, Assistant Editor

lyamshon@idgcsmb.com
Leah started out as a PCWorld intern and columnist before Macworld scooped her up as an assistant editor. Now, she happily writes features and covers iOS apps, smartphone cases, gadget bags, and social media trends across all three of our sites.